Huxleў
Author: Huxleў
© Huxleў — almanac about philosophy, business, art and science.
Science
5 minutes for reading

WHAT IS GOOD AND WHAT IS BAD: how toddlers evaluate actions

WHAT IS GOOD AND WHAT IS BAD: how toddlers evaluate actions
Share material
Photo by Shubham Dhage on Unsplash

 

Children’s adaptation to social norms is a complex and controversial process. For example, 2-year-old children are already capable of lying when it is not necessary and sometimes even to their own harm. How and when do they begin to understand what behavior is socially acceptable and what is not? A group of scientists from Germany and Great Britain decided to find out in the course of a study, the results of which are published in the international scientific journal Nature.

 

THE SYSTEM OF PROHIBITIONS IS ASSIMILATED ALMOST FROM BIRTH

 

The development and maturation of a child involve understanding and accepting social norms. Children gradually learn to recognize which of their actions may be approved by others and which may be disapproved and rejected. Scientists have found that such skills are formed in children from birth.

Even in the preverbal period of development, they begin developing skills to interpret the information that they receive by observing the behavior and relationships of family members: mom and dad, brothers and sisters, and grandparents. And practically from the very first months of life, they are faced with a system of prohibitions, which is formed by adults.

 

WHAT IS GOOD AND WHAT IS BAD

 

As a result, they have a clear idea of what is good and what is bad. Around the age of 1.5 years, they begin not only to recognize which behavior is acceptable and which is not but also to protest if they identify a person’s actions as wrong.

Moreover, they try to correct those who are behaving inappropriately and try to guide them «back on track». At the age of 3, children are already capable of putting this protest into words. But can toddlers adequately understand and evaluate compliance with social norms before they can speak?

 
YOU CAN PUNISH AN «AGGRESSOR» EVEN WITH A LOOK

 

To understand this, the researchers decided to conduct a series of experiments with the visual reactions of infants in preverbal age. To do this, 8-month-old children were shown specially created cartoons, the heroes of which were geometric figures — two cubes. However, these cubes were «humanized» — they had eyes, and, according to the plot of the video, they conflicted with each other.

Of course, the kids were not able to physically intervene in this conflict, but they could react to it with their eyes. That is, if one of the cubes behaved unfairly or aggressively, he could be punished with a prolonged look — in this case, a cartoon stone would fall on him. Children quickly realized how to restore justice and used the long gaze to establish a socially acceptable order.

 

«HUMANIZED» TRIANGLES

 

Next, Moritz Köster of the University of Regensburg and Robert Hepach of the University of Oxford came up with another experiment. It involved 30 preverbal infants from 8 to 12 months old. The scientists found that the children expected the same behavioral reactions to things from members of the same social group.

The children not only understood the content and meaning of the social norm but also associated compliance with social approval. To verify this, the scientists again created a series of animated videos.

But this time, their heroes were not just cubes with eyes, but even more «humanized» triangles, which had arms, legs, eyes, and mouth.

 

By joining the Huxleў friends club, you support philosophy, science and art

 

«TRIANGULAR» EMOTIONS

 

The plot of each cartoon began the same way — 3 triangles stood on one side of the screen, in the center of which were 2 balls. Then, one of the triangles left the group, took the balls, knocked them against each other, returned them to their previous place, and went to the opposite side of the screen.

Then, the second triangle did the same thing. At the same time, the first one expressed approval of his actions by raising his hands, jumping, and shouting with joy. But the third triangle could already deviate from the usual scenario — completely duplicate the actions of its group members or throw balls upwards.

Accordingly, the other two triangles could either express approval of his actions or condemn them. In the latter case, they were clearly angry, expressed dissatisfaction, and turned away from the «violator».

 

INCONSISTENCY IS THE WORST «SIN»

 

In total, four videos were created. In the first two, the triangles approved of their friend’s behavior if it was «right» and got angry when it was «wrong». In the next two clips, it was the other way around — atypical behavior was approved, and standard behavior was condemned.

While the children watched these cartoons, the authors of the experiment measured the reaction of their pupils. Earlier studies had already helped scientists realize that when children were surprised and discouraged by watching impossible events, their pupils reacted by dilating.

The infants’ pupils dilated the most when the triangles showed inconsistency in their judgment. That is when a «pattern break» occurred — approving the «wrong» and condemning the «right». This means that toddlers clearly correlated conforming behavior with social approval and vice versa.

 

THREE-YEAR-OLD GUARDIANS OF ORDER

 

Children begin to react especially actively to the violation of the norm by the age of 3. Here already, one surprise is not enough. «Abnormality» requires direct physical intervention to correct the situation or causes verbal protest.

Experiments have confirmed the conjecture that children can orient themselves to social norms and rules much earlier than they begin to speak. Of course, at 11 months of age, they do not yet have a full-fledged idea of how other people should act.

However, they are already good at distinguishing normative from non-normative behavior, expecting the former to be approved and the latter not.

 

Original research: Preverbal infants’ understanding of social norms

 


When copying materials, please place an active link to www.huxley.media
By joining the Huxleў friends club, you support philosophy, science and art
Share material

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors:

Huxleў
Автор: Huxleў
© Huxleў — альманах о философии, бизнесе, искусстве и науке.
Science
5 мин. на чтение

ЧТО ТАКОЕ ХОРОШО И ЧТО ТАКОЕ ПЛОХО: как малыши оценивают поступки

ЧТО ТАКОЕ ХОРОШО И ЧТО ТАКОЕ ПЛОХО: как малыши оценивают поступки
Поделиться материалом
Photo by Shubham Dhage on Unsplash

 

Адаптация детей к общественным нормам — процесс сложный и неоднозначный. Например, уже 2-летние дети способны врать, когда в этом нет необходимости, и порой даже в ущерб себе. Как и когда они начинают понимать, какое поведение является социально приемлемым, а какое нет? Это решила выяснить группа ученых из Германии и Великобритании в ходе исследования, результаты которого публикует международный научный журнал Nature.

 

СИСТЕМА ЗАПРЕТОВ УСВАИВАЕТСЯ ПОЧТИ С РОЖДЕНИЯ

 

Развитие и взросление ребенка предполагает понимание и восприятие им социальных норм. Дети постепенно учатся распознавать, какие их действия могут вызвать одобрение окружающих, а какие могут быть порицаемы и отвергнуты. Ученые установили, что подобные навыки формируются у детей еще с рождения.

Еще в довербальный период развития они начинают вырабатывать навыки интерпретации той информации, которую получают, наблюдая за поведением и взаимоотношениями членов семьи: мамы и папы, братиков и сестричек, бабушек и дедушек. И практически с самых первых месяцев жизни они сталкиваются с системой запретов, которую формируют взрослые.

 

ЧТО ТАКОЕ ХОРОШО И ЧТО ТАКОЕ ПЛОХО

 

В результате у них появляется четкое представление, что хорошо, а что плохо. Примерно в возрасте 1,5 лет они начинают не просто распознавать, какое поведение является приемлемым, а какое нет, но и выражать протест, если определяют действия человека как неправильные.

Более того, они стараются поправлять тех, кто ведет себя неподобающе, и пытаются наставить их «на путь истинный». В возрасте 3 лет дети уже способны облекать этот протест в слова. Но могут ли малыши адекватно понимать и оценивать соблюдение социальных норм до того, как научатся говорить?

 

НАКАЗАТЬ «АГРЕССОРА» МОЖНО ДАЖЕ ВЗГЛЯДОМ

 

Чтобы разобраться в этом, исследователи решили провести ряд экспериментов со зрительными реакциями младенцев, находящихся в довербальном возрасте. Для этого 8-месячным детям стали показывать специально созданные мультики, героями которых были геометрические фигуры — два кубика. Однако эти кубики были «очеловечены» — у них были глаза, и, по сюжету видеоролика, они находились в конфликте друг с другом.

Конечно, малыши были не в состоянии физически вмешаться в этот конфликт, но они могли отреагировать на него взглядом. То есть если один из кубиков вел себя несправедливо или агрессивно, то с помощью долгого взгляда его можно было наказать — в таком случае на него падал мультяшный камень. Дети быстро осознавали, каким образом восстановить справедливость, и пользовались долгим взглядом, чтобы установить социально приемлемый порядок.

 

«ОЧЕЛОВЕЧЕНЫЕ» ТРЕУГОЛЬНИКИ

 

Далее Мориц Кестер из Регенсбургского университета и Роберт Хепач из Оксфордского университета придумали еще один эксперимент. В нем приняли участие 30 довербальных младенцев от 8 до 12 месяцев. Ученые обнаружили, что от членов одной и той же социальной группы дети ожидают одинаковых поведенческих реакций на происходящее.

Дети не только понимали содержание и смысл социальной нормы, но и связывали ее соблюдение с социальным одобрением. Для того чтобы удостовериться в этом, ученые снова создали серию анимационных роликов.

Но на этот раз их героями были не просто кубики с глазами, а еще более «очеловеченные» треугольники, которые обладали руками, ногами, глазами и ртом.

 

Вступая в клуб друзей Huxleў, Вы поддерживаете философию, науку и искусство

 

«ТРЕУГОЛЬНЫЕ» ЭМОЦИИ

 

Сюжет каждого мультфильма начинался одинаково — 3 треугольника стояли с одной стороны экрана, в центре которого лежали 2 шарика. Затем один из треугольников покидал группу, брал шарики, стучал ими друг о друга, возвращал на прежнее место и переходил на противоположную сторону экрана.

Далее то же самое делал второй треугольник. При этом первый выражал одобрение его действий поднятием рук, прыжками и криками радости. Но вот третий уже мог отступать от привычного сценария — полностью продублировать действия членов своей группы или подбросить шарики вверх.

Соответственно, два других треугольника могли или выразить одобрение его действиям, либо осудить их. В последнем варианте они явно сердились, выражали недовольство и отворачивались от «нарушителя».

 

НЕПОСЛЕДОВАТЕЛЬНОСТЬ — САМЫЙ СТРАШНЫЙ «ГРЕХ»

 

Всего было создано 4 ролика. В первых двух треугольники одобряли поведение своего товарища, если оно было «правильным», и сердились, когда оно было «неправильным». В следующих двух роликах все было наоборот — нетипичное поведение одобрялось, а стандартное вызывало осуждение.

В то время, пока дети просматривали эти мультфильмы, авторы эксперимента измеряли реакцию их зрачков. Более ранние исследования уже помогли ученым понять, что, когда дети были удивлены и обескуражены, наблюдая невозможные события, их зрачки реагировали на это расширением.

Зрачки младенцев больше всего расширялись, когда треугольники демонстрировали непоследовательность своих оценок. То есть когда происходил «разрыв шаблона» — одобрялось «неправильное» и осуждалось «правильное». Это означает, что малыши четко соотносили конформное поведение с социальным одобрением и наоборот.

 

ТРЕХЛЕТНИЕ СТРАЖИ ПОРЯДКА

 

Особенно активно дети начинают реагировать на нарушение нормы к 3 годам. Здесь уже одного удивления оказывается мало. «Ненормальность» требует непосредственного физического вмешательства с целью исправления ситуации или вызывает словесный протест.

Эксперименты подтвердили догадку, что дети могут ориентироваться в социальных нормах и правилах намного раньше, чем начинают говорить. Конечно, в 11-месячном возрасте у них еще отсутствует полноценное представление о том, как должны поступать другие люди.

Однако они уже хорошо отличают нормативное поведение от ненормативного, ожидая, что первое будет одобрено, а второе — нет. 

 

Оригинальное исследование: Preverbal infants’ understanding of social norms

 


При копировании материалов размещайте активную ссылку на www.huxley.media
Вступая в клуб друзей Huxleў, Вы поддерживаете философию, науку и искусство
Поделиться материалом

Если вы нашли ошибку, пожалуйста, выделите фрагмент текста и нажмите Ctrl+Enter.

Получайте свежие статьи

Сообщить об опечатке

Текст, который будет отправлен нашим редакторам: